Health

Injured in a car wreck in Seattle? Things you need to know!

The aftermath of a car accident can be traumatic and overwhelming. Unfortunately, auto collisions, crashes, and accidents are reported in and around Seattle every month. If you ever have the misfortune of getting injured in a car wreck in Seattle, here are some things worth knowing. 

1.Pull over and call 911.

You need to call emergency services right away from the accident site. Even if your injuries don’t seem that severe, others may need assistance and medical treatment. Also, call the police immediately. Note that if a law enforcement officer wasn’t available, you are required to file a Motor Vehicle Collision Report. This is mandatory by law, for all accidents in Washington that result in injury or property damage worth $1,000 or more. 

Pro tip: Don’t let the other driver, or anyone else, talk you out from calling the police. Also, if you are physically fit, take pictures of the accident site, damaged vehicles, your injuries, and everything else in sight. Take the details of other drivers and witnesses of the accident. 

2.Washington follows the “pure comparative negligence” rule.

If you were partly at fault and have suffered injuries in an accident in Seattle, you can still file a personal injury lawsuit, even if your share of fault is more than 50%. However, your eventual settlement will be reduced by your share of fault in percentage. So, if you were given $30,000 in compensation and were 20% at fault, you will only get $24,000. 

Pro tip: If you don’t go in prepared, the insurance company of the other driver may try to pin the blame on you. This is one of the many reasons why you must hire an attorney immediately after your car accident in Seattle. 

3.There is a statute of limitations.

Like other states, there is a statute of limitations in Washington too. You have three years, from the date of the accident, to bring a personal injury lawsuit against the party at fault. For wrongful death lawsuits and property damage cases, the deadline remains the same i.e., three years, as per the statute of limitations. 

Pro tip: Don’t wait for long after a car accident to take legal action against the party at fault. 

Call an attorney

Make sure that you hire a car accident attorney, to get the compensation you deserve. A skilled lawyer can give you a fair overview of what to expect in a settlement, along with the expected timeline of the case.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *